Save the architecture

“Helping our nation to preserve our historic buildings…” – Founder, John Szepietowski

We stand proudly united as one. Our goal is to protect the historic architecture. Together, we’re part of something larger and extraordinary. The future of architecture depends on all of us acting now. With our combined efforts, we can prevent buildings on the verge of extinction from disappearing forever.

About Save the Architecture

Save the Architecture was founded in 1998 by our generous sponsor John Szepietowski, we employ a number of volunteer researchers to collate a large amount of information to provide the very best advice and service for owners and prospective owners of Listed Buildings.

Any queries you may have please get in touch and we will do our best to respond to your query within 48hrs.

We would like to thank our sponsor Mr John Szepietowski for his generous donations and continued support allowing us to offer our service through the Save The Architecture web site.  John Szepietowski is a successful property developer and investor who believes in the preservation of our heritage wherever possible. We hope that this website will assist those in meeting this objective.

What is a Listed Building?

Listed Buildings are buildings and structures considered by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media & Sport, to be of Special Architectural or Historic Interest which are included on a statutory list. The purpose of listing is to protect this country’s heritage of buildings. It is therefore intended to ensure that alterations do not harm the building’s special interest and that demolition is only allowed after the most careful and detailed consideration. Buildings are added to the statutory list by the Department of Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS).

Most buildings built before 1700 which survive in anything like their original condition are Listed, together with many buildings dating from about 1700 to 1840. Between 1840 and 1914 only buildings of definite quality and character are Listed. Only selected buildings constructed after 1914 are normally Listed.

There are three Grades of listing:

  • Grade I Buildings of the most exceptional interest
  • Grade II* Buildings of particular importance
  • Grade II Buildings of special interest which warrant every effort being made to preserve them.


English Heritage, Historic England and other organisations have a number of grant schemes designed to help with the protection and promotion of the Historic Environment.

Repair Grants for Places of Worship

Historic England give grants towards the repair and conservation of listed buildings, scheduled monuments and registered parks and gardens. This includes project development actions which enable repair or improved future management.

Grants for War Memorials

The Government has made significant sums available for communities wishing to repair and conserve their war memorials during the centenary of the First World War. Historic England now funds the War Memorials Trust.

Recent Architecture News

Get in touch